Recover purged PYTHON

Actually, I was experimenting something for which I purge PYTHON. Seriously, I don’t know what happened to me why I have purged it. I was not able to see dashboard, launcher. A blank Desktop. But we learn something new from our mistakes. So, I encourged myself to recover it rather reinstalling new Ubuntu.

I tried a number of links to fix it. But none worked for me. After a long day continuing, I ran one command.

$sudo apt-get install -f

Here flag ‘f’ means that it will fix the broken packages. After that reinstall the python and the problem is solved. Now I am able to see my original Ubuntu-Desktop.

While installing any new package(here->postgresql-9.3-postgis-2.2) I was getting the error some dependencies are broken.

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
postgresql-9.3-postgis-2.2 : Depends: libgdal20 (>= 2.0.1) but it is not going to be installed
Depends: libgeos-c1v5 (>= 3.5.0) but it is not going to be installed
Depends: liblwgeom-2.2-5 (>= 2.2.0) but it is not going to be installed
Depends: libsfcgal1 (>= 1.2.0) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

$ sudo apt-get install libgeos-c1v5

But when I cross-checked I got to know that the package ” libgeos-c1v5″ was not installed. So, after installing all the problems were solved.

Leave a Reply

